Kalamazoo Minor In Possession Defense

Ask about the $500.00 full representation fee if it is your first offense.

Michigan has some of the toughest minor in possession (MIP) laws of any state in the country. A minor in possession is serious and may have serious consequences for a young adult. Contacting an attorney immediately is essential to successfully fighting a MIP arrest. 
First Rule: Do not plead guilty at your arraignment without first consulting with an attorney!

What are the consequences of an MIP?

A conviction of a MIP has very serious consequences. It is not a civil infraction, it is a misdemeanor, which means that it is a criminal offense. In Michigan, a misdemeanor can be punishable by up to 93 days in jail and/or a $500.00 fine. Additionally, Michigan Secretary of State can impose licensing sanctions on drivers convicted of a MIP.

Under M.C.L. §§ 436.1703 the penalties for a minor in possession depend on whether you have been arrested or cited for it before.

1st Offense:  No Jail; $100 Fine; substance abuse evaluation, prevention, or counseling; community service.  Under a 1st offense, diversion program may be available.

2nd Offense:  Up to 30 days in jail if a court order is violated; $200 fine; substance abuse evaluation, prevention, or counseling; community service; mandatory drug testing; driver's license suspension for 90 days by the Secretary of State.

3rd Offense: up to 60 days in jail; $500 fine; substance abuse evaluation, prevention, or counseling; community service; suspension of driver's license for one year by the Secretary of State. 

A minor in possession conviction will be permanently displayed on your public record and can affect student loan eligibility, housing, employment, scholarships, honor society memberships, insurance rates, and more.
If you have been arrested for MIP, it is crucial to retain an attorney as soon as possible.

What to do if you are charged with minor in possession?
  • Do not plead guilty at your arraignment. It is important to first talk with attorney about the penalties, possible defenses and options that you may have.   If you plead guilty at your first court appearance, you will lose many options that may be available to you.
  • Even if you are guilty, it is important to consult an attorney as we may be able to negotiate a reduced plea, resulting in a more favorable outcome.
What is Michigan’s MIP Law?
In Michigan, an individual must be 21 years old to consume alcohol. A minor in possession is anyone under the age of 21 who “purchases or attempts to purchase alcohol; consumers or attempts to consume alcohol; possess or attempts to possess alcohol’ or has any bodily alcohol content (BAC)."

First MIP Offense:
If this is your first offense, contact Reed Law immediately. Reed Law may be able to negotiate a plea agreement that may result in this unfortunate incident being removed from your public record.